Pages

Friends

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Scary Stuff?


Here is an email I recently received.

You’ve received this email because you have content in Google+ for your personal (consumer) account or a Google+ page you manage.
This is a reminder that on April 2, 2019 we’re shutting down consumer Google+ and will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.
Downloading your Google+ content may take time, so get started before March 31, 2019.
No other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) will be shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown, and the Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain. Note that photos and videos already backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
For more information, see the full Google+ shutdown FAQ.
From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place.
Google LLC 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043
You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google+ Page, product or account.

Anybody else get this message on e-mail?  I'm not doing it!  I may be a nonblogger soon, but I'm not doing it. Junk having to do with the computer is just getting to be too much trouble for me. I've enjoyed reading my old blogs from time to time.  Lots of good memories that I won't be able to read anymore after April 1.  Or is this an elaborate and nasty April Fools day prank?  They sure chose a bad day for a change over.  So if there is anything on my blog that you want to see, look now or be disappointed.

Hugs,
Terri

5 comments:

  1. I got the message, too. Did you use Google+? I didn't (on purpose) because I didn't like the platform, but I must have shared one thing on Google+ because I see there's a video on it (which I don't care if it gets deleted). I don't think it will affect your blog if you have uploaded your photos through the Blogger platform. At least that's what I'm counting on!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Your blog should still be there, but anything you have in the Plus area will be gone, like followers of your blog on the Plus platform. This was announced some time ago, and is not a prank.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I heard about Google+ going away over a month ago. I was never Google+ due to all the problems with it (like no-reply bloggers & being exclusive). Your blog will still be here. Anyone who is just Google+, will no longer be able to leave comments on blogs. They can just register under Google blogger (like we have) to access blogs.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes, I got that message a little while ago too. I had probably only posted once or twice on Google+ and never did anything more. The people who were my 'friends' there also followed my blog (or I followed theirs), so it was redundant. I tried to delete my account and will just let the rest go away.

    ReplyDelete

  5. Thank you! This is super helpful and well written!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment. I love the feedback, and getting to know you.